My Office Inspiration

Last weekend, we painted a space in our home which I have been referring to as “my future office”. Seeing the space painted a fresh new hue, I’m getting excited about making the space officially my office. Today, I’m sharing some images which are inspiring my designs for the space.

My Office Inspiration

I chose a lovely shade of aqua for the wall colour, one of my favourite colours. I was inspired by the above image, when choosing the colour. I also love the art collage above the desk, surrounded by that massive gold frame. That’s so inventive and pretty.

blue toile antique sofa in swedish home via facilisimo.com

In the space, there is an inherited antique sofa and a beautiful oval antique mirror hanging above it, which we got for quite a bargain at our local Sunday market. I am planning to make a couple of blue and white chinoiserie toile de jouy cushions for the sofa, to make it more comfortable to sit on. I love blue and white chinoiserie decor. I want to add a little of that in my office.

My Office Inspiration

I love to mix old and new things. To balance the antiques in the room, and bring the style into the present moment, I want to have more contemporary pieces, like a sleek white desk, a Ghost chair, and a fabulous lamp. I’d love to have a few golden touches, to give the desk a chic mood.

My Office Inspiration

My Office Inspiration

Adair lamp via domino.com

I’m picturing a pretty pin board hanging above the desk, filled with inspiring images, as well as those random bits of paper that I end up keeping for a while (my son’s drawings, advertisements for things I don’t want to forget about, etc.). I might like to hang some art works around it, too.

My Office Inspiration

For storage, I like the look of tall open shelves and floating white shelves. I’m not sure what I’ll do about that yet. Just getting a desk will be a great start!

white and gold shelves above white desk via pinterest

 

My Office Inspiration

I would love to add a pretty rug, to cozy up the space, and bring everything together, visually. Blue would be ideal.

Ashleigh rug from dotandbo.com

 

I hope to be able to give you a “big reveal” sort of post about my office, in the somewhat near future. Stay tuned!

The Sweet Groove of the Melodies by Yolanda Sanchez
The Sweet Groove of the Melodies by Yolanda Sanchez

I just had to include this beautiful painting, because I love it so much. The colours and the feeling it brings me are so inspiring. I would be very happy to have something similar in my home.

Image sources, from top to bottom: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 1011

2 thoughts on “My Office Inspiration

Leave a Reply

