Chai Banana Bread

chai banana bread

I have a confession to make… I’m one of those obsessive recipe-collecting types. When I want to bake banana bread, for example, I cannot be content with having just one recipe. I need to collect several recipes, with slight variations, for every possible banana bread craving. Then, I try each recipe, as the mood strikes me. Sometimes, as much as I may adore each recipe for its own merits, I have the nagging thought that blending two favorite recipes into one new recipe would produce the best result. This banana bread recipe was created from just such an occasion. I put together my favorite simple banana bread recipe with a recipe for chai-spiced banana bread, and the results were so delicious. A not-too-fussy but somehow quite special recipe for a classic treat.

This chai-flavored banana bread is very soft and moist, with the enticing aroma and flavor of a chai latte. The spices are quite delicate. I like to be able to taste the banana in the bread, so I didn’t want to push the seasonings too far. I love this banana bread so much. I think it is the ultimate comfort food.

chai banana bread

If you want to bake something sweet for Mom (or yourself), this weekend–or any time, I hope you will give this chai banana bread recipe a try. I had fun making it with the help of my toddler. He loved mashing the bananas. He was so proud of himself, and couldn’t wait to tell Daddy about his accomplishment that night. I’m planning to bake another loaf tomorrow, since I happen to have a few very ripe bananas on the counter, which are begging to be used.

To make this banana bread even more deliciously chai-flavored and even more cake-like (who are we kidding? banana bread is cake, right?), you can add a simple glaze on top, made by whisking a half cup or so of powdered sugar/ icing mixture, 1 1/2 – 2tsp milk, 1/2 tsp vanilla extract, plus a dash of cinnamon and/ or cardamom, blending completely into a thick yet pourable glaze. I had meant to add the glaze to this loaf, but my 3 year-old just could not wait to try it. Toddlers are not known for being patient. So, I’m sorry that this one didn’t get the glaze. I will definitely be adding it to tomorrow’s batch.

chai banana bread

Here’s the recipe. Enjoy…

Chai Banana Bread

  • Servings: Yields one loaf
  • Print

This chai-flavoured banana bread is very moist and soft, with the enticing aroma and flavour of a chai latte. The spices are deliciously delicate. It's the ultimate comfort food.

Ingredients

  • 3 very ripe bananas, peeled (about 1 1/2 cups, when mashed)
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup or 75g unsalted butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract or vanilla bean paste
  • 1 tsp baking soda/ bicarb soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp ground cardamom
  • 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp ground allspice

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350F/ 180 C. Butter or spray-oil a standard 4×8″ loaf pan. Line pan with baking paper cut long enough to overhang on the long sides of the pan, to allow for easy removal of the bread, once cooled. Spray-oil baking paper.
  2. Mix the cardamom, cinnamon, ginger, and allspice in a small bowl. Set aside.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, mash the bananas with a fork until completely smooth. Stir the melted butter into the bananas.
  4. Mix in the baking soda and salt. Stir in the sugar, beaten egg, and vanilla extract.
  5. Whisk the flour into the banana mixture, a little at a time, mixing well. Be gentle and try not to over-mix, or the bread’s texture will be too stiff.
  6. Gently whisk the spice blend into the batter.
  7. Pour batter evenly into prepared loaf pan. Smooth top of batter with a spatula or large spoon. Bake for 50 minutes to one hour, at 350F/ 180C, until a tester from the center comes out clean.
  8. Remove from oven and place on a rack. Cool bread completely before removing from pan, using baking paper to lift it out. Slice and serve.

 

Recipe adapted from this recipe from Simply Recipes and this recipe from The Gingersnap Girl.

All written content and photos are Copyright Kimberly Sequoia 2017 for a delicious moment.

If you would like to use this recipe on your own website, please re-word it in your own words or link back to my original post.

 

Leave a Reply

